My KubeCon CloudNativeCon Experience.

For people who don't know what Kubecon is, KubeCon is a bi-annual conference about the whole ecosystem around Kubernetes which is backed by the Cloud Native Computing Foundation (CNCF). This year it was held in North America from 24th to the 27th of November in hybrid mode basically in person in Los Angeles and virtually for the rest of the world. The conference was a great experience for me and I would like to share my experience with you.

How I got to know about Kubecon?

I was exploring the CNCF landscape page, which I come to know from Youtube (specifically from Kunal's Video). I heard about Kubecon already and had a basic idea about what it is. On the CNCF landing page, I come to know about Kubecon and CloudNativeCon Europe 2020. I was very excited to attend the conference as I can attend it virtually from my home. I registered for the conference through a scholarship program that gives me the tickets for free. I was very excited to attend the conference and I was also very nervous as it was my first conference. I was also very excited to meet the people from the community and also to learn from them.

What was my exprience from Kubecon?

As a beginner It feels like an Ocean, There is too much to attend. When I logged to the home page I am confused about what to do, I started exploring, and Attending as much as I can when most of the things just got over my head. I started looking for talks for beginners. And there when I started looking for 101 talks and Student Track. I remember there is a talk by Saiyam Pathak from Civo about Kubernetes architecture. That one is something I understand properly.

Then is also a slack channel where folks from Virtual and in-person can interact with each other, and yup I get new friends who are as overwhelmed as me in the Kubecon and going through the journey of learning new things. All the peoples are very helpful, there is no question there that is not answered or being ignored by everyone, at least one person will reply always.

What I learned from Kubecon?

I mentioned in tweets that I would publish a separate blog post regarding the lessons I had learned from a few particular occurrences. These are the threads that I have written if you wish to learn more about them.

Lessons Learned From The "Mentor-Mentee Framework To Build The Next Generation Of Cloud Native."

Learnings from "The 10 Biggest Mistakes You Shouldn't Make In Open Source."

  • Additional general considerations for each event include:

  • Share your failure on social media without feeling guilty. They will undoubtedly assist you if you are connected with the correct individuals.

  • Don't wait for the ideal moment to act. Accept anything of value that is supplied.

  • Join social media sites like Twitter, Slack, and Discord to communicate with other Cloud Native users and businesses. They will undoubtedly aid you and direct you toward available resources.

Thank You!! That's It, It is my virtual KubeCon Experience 2022.